To Fictionalize or Not to Fictionalize

I have decided that because my memoir involves the inner workings of a big box store I will fictionalize or partially fictionalize some of the characters.   Some of the characters I have decided to blend into others, and I have changed their names into very long odd Greek names so that no one could look them up in the phone book and find anything even close to what I wrote down.

Making some aspects of their personality into fiction gives me more freedom to write about how I was feeling at the time realizing of course that these people will never truly know who I am talking about.   I also do not want to get into a long defamation suit of any sort.

Leave a Reply

