Memoir Writing: When to Quit Writing

I have only been writing on my memoir for about a month or so, but at 25,000 words, I am having a difficult time extending this memoir any further.  I suppose I could extend some areas and add a bit of color to the tale, but even at that I am not sure that I can make 50,000 words at this time.

Writing a memoir, which is a story about a particular time in your own life can also be taxing for one’s mental health.  If that period of time was especially difficult, the reliving of events can be draining.

Ideally I would like to add some comedy here and there on an otherwise dreary, Dickensonian tale.  I suppose that I could challenge myself to find something comedic about this period of time and blend those incidents in with the more adverse ones.

Leave a Reply

