Two Years of Running

For years the longest I could ever run was a mile or a mile and a half. One morning in September 2021 my husband decided to run 5 miles very slowly. I was surprised that he could run that far since he ordinarily does not do any sort of exercise. I decided that since he did it, I could do it too. On my first try I went slowly paying attention to my breathing. On the return run, my legs became jelly when I got to pioneer street which was about five miles. After that I began to run more and more. At the end of December when I ran my first half marathon, it was pouring down rain, and very cold. My daughter ran the marathon and I ran the half marathon. I honestly could not believe I finished it, but I did. In April of 2022 before I went to see my newborn grandson, I ran my second half marathon improving my time. I ran the Seattle Marathon in November of 2022, and I am currently training for the Santa Rosa Marathon. The picture on the left was taken in July 2021, and the one on the right July 2022 after nearly a year of running. The picture at the bottom was taken in July 2023 after two years of running.

Leave a comment